Christian Achievement Awards

The MCWC Christian Achievement Award is awarded annually to a recipient who has earned the distinction of exceptional Christian service and achievement. The Spiritual Committee chair presents nominees for the award to the Board in March, and a vote is taken in April to determine the recipient. Nominees may not be members of the Madison Catholic Woman's Club. At our May program event, award recipients are presented the award with a plaque or other personalized recognition, and a donation to their service or ministry.
If you know of someone who should be considered for this Award, please email us using the form on the right. 

2020 Susan Hundt Bergan, for her dedicated ministry to the incarcerated. Click to view the Award Presentation video
2019 Dr. Michael Kloess, Our Lady of Hope Clinic, for his compassionate donations of care and treatment for the uninsured, consistent with Catholic health care tradition. 
2018 Judy Stolper, for her work with the pastor in ministry to parish members with serious or life-limiting illness, other life struggles, transitions, including frequent visits when Hospice becomes involved at end of life.
2017 Carol Viviani, St. Mary’s Hospital Nursing School graduate, former employee, and currently an active volunteer
2016 Rita Hohlstein, Occupational Therapist
2015 Schoenstatt Sisters for their promotion of Marian devotion
2014 100th Year Anniversary Celebration. No Christian Achievement Award was given.
2013 Cistercian Sisters of Valley of Our Lady Monastery.
2012 Sister Georgeann Roudebush, Resource Team Chaplain for Agrace Hospice Care, as well as a monthly trainer for many volunteers.
2011 Msgr. Kenneth J. Fiedler, Pastor, Our Lady Queen of Peace Parish, was instrumental in reopening the Catholic Multicultural Center.
2010 Ralph Middlecamp, Director of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul-Madison and surrounding area.
2009 Jean Elvekrog, Chair of the Children’s Library Service Center, Board Member for Catholic Charities, an active volunteer in church and community activities
2008 Peggy Weber, Director of Parish nursing, St. Mary’s Hospital, Hospice volunteer, community grief counselor
2007 Emmett Schulte, manager of Madison Food Pantry Garden Project, and Mary Ann, volunteer for Pregnancy Helpline.
2006 Alice Seelow, Manager and Director, St. Vincent de Paul Food Pantry
2005 William Rieder, volunteer at Guadalupe Center, Salvation Army, Wilmar Center, Apostolate to the Handicapped, Port St. Vincent, St. Martin House
2004 Beverly DeGroot,outstanding volunteer at Nazareth House, St. Martin House and St. Vincent de Paul
2003 Liz Osborne, director, Care Net Pregnancy Center of Dane County
2002 Romilia Schlueter, Director, Guadalupe Pastoral Center
2001 Glen Reichelderfer, Director, Port St. Vincent
2000 Father Thomas Campion, Apostolate to the Handicapped
1999 Habitat for Humanity
1998 Madison Area Literacy Council founders Raymond and Ernestine Wagner, the volunteers and staff
1997 Pastor, staff and members of Grace Episcopal Church, sheltering homeless
1996 Wisconsin Harvest-volunteer food service to the hungry, Joseph Hildebrandt, Co-Chairperson and Director and Jan Eddy, Co-Chairperson
1995 Mothers of Simpson Street (MOSS) Louree Holly, Exec. Director/Board President
1994 Nancy Beatty and Francis Darr, Co-Presidents of U.W. Pro-Life Action League 
1993 St. Vincent de Paul for 161 years of service to the needy, Ralph Middlecamp, Director
1992 Golden Care (division of older Adult Services), St. Mary’s Hospital Medical Center
1991 Transitional Housing Inc., shelter for homeless, Lester Stohm, Director
1990 Rosemary Berchem, St. Mary’s Hospital employee, numerous volunteer activities
1989 Hospice Care Inc., Mrs. Mary Michel, Executive Director-accepting the award on behalf of the organization for its dedication in serving terminally ill patients in the community
1988 Dr. William Rock, community enrichment, outstanding, caring physician
1987 Al Rydstrom, outstanding volunteer, despite disease
1986 Hedwig Pertzborn, “behind the scenes” volunteer, Lamp and other community services
1985 Paul Ashe, community service: meal program, St. Paul’s
1984 Margaret Straub, lifetime work with the poor and hungry at Blessed Martin house
1983 Carol and Marguerite Jones, devoted foster parents
1982 Coletta-James House - care of the developmentally disabled women
1981 Sisters of Nazareth, Stoughton, care of the sick and elderly
1980 Jean Stewart, 20th district alderwoman, vigorous work on the Madison City Council in closing nude entertainment establishments
1979 Father Tony Karls, award to all hospital Chaplains
1978 Rev. Richard Pritchard, D.D., leader of a group to bring sexual morality back to the Madison area
1977 Sr. Rebecca, St. Mary’s Hospital Administrator, defense of the high-risk infant care program at the hospital
1976 Joanne Duren (member of the Legislature), for backing pro-life legislation
1975 Citizens Concerned For Our Community, Joseph Juno, Representative.
1974 Micki Harper, Pres. Wisconsin Citizens Concerned for Life
1973 Boro, Cartoonist - Madison Newspapers, Inc.
1972 Mayor William Dyke, City of Madison
If you have any questions, please contact us.
Have A Question?
The form contains errors. Please correct them and re-submit.